Neode Prize 2017

About the Neode Prize

The Neode Prize rewards the creators of an innovative product in the field of medicine; with financial support and the logistics offered by the technology park, they will be able to develop and promote their idea.

The Neode Prize is dedicated to inventors and visionaries; therefore Neode is encouraging individuals, groups of individuals and institutions of all backgrounds to take part. All that’s needed to enter the competition is the willingness to set up a company  legally and physically with its headquarters in one of the accommodation of Neode.

To award the Prize, a panel consisting mainly of doctors and internationally recognized professors has been appointed. The initiative covers the whole gamut of Medtech products which, combined with various aspects of industry and medicine, can allow a functional prototype to be built and its future success confirmed.

Professor Afksendiyos Kalangos, President of the World Society of Cardiothoracic Surgeons, will be chairing the panel and bringing his experience and legitimacy to the competition; his ideas have been implemented in the form of products currently available on the market. He invites his medical colleagues to contribute to the Neode Prize and help stimulate innovation. He has also invited ten internationally acclaimed physicians to join him on the panel. Highly specialized in medical devices, this committee will play a key role in determining the relevance and benefits of products entered for the Prize.

Medical Devices

The Prize is designed to serve life sciences through the creation of new medical devices. It consists in services with a total worth of CHF 50,000 aimed at helping inventors to industrialize their product, draw up a business plan and raise funds – as well as set up an appropriate company

The deadline for entries is midnight on October 6, 2017, to be sent by e-mail to or by post (date as postmark) using the form below.

Entry form

Entry form (Word format)



Award ceremony of the Neode Prize 20177
December 2017 -  5.15 pm
Auditorium Charles-Edouard, Microcity, Neuchâtel


5.15 pm Greetings Sandy Wetzel, Director of Neode
5.40 pm Welcome to the City of Neuchâtel Olivier Arni, Counsellor City of Neuchâtel Director of Urban planning, Economy and Environment
5.50 pm Presentation of the 2017 edition & nominees Professor Afksendiyos Kalangos President of the Neode Prize Jury and President of the Global Society of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery
6.00 pm Success story of the 2015 winner Andreas Hogg, CEO of Coat-X
6.15 pm Presentation by the 3 nominees  
6.40 pm Keynote speaker Jean-Roger Cattin, Plant Manager Spine, Medos International Sàrl (Johnson & Johnson Campus Neuchâtel)
6.55 pm Winner's Announcement & Award Professor Kalangos & Sandy Wetzel
7.00 pm Presentation of the intellectual property of the winning project Eugène Blanchard, Director of GEVERS
7.15 pm Cocktail dinner  

>> Online registration

free  but requested

Members of the Jury

Medical experts

Prof. Afksendiyos KALANGOS, Chairman of the Jury
President of the World Society of Cardiothoracic Surgeons

Dr. Beat WALPOT,  past Director Cardiovascular Research - HUG - CH

Prof. Giuseppe FAGGIAN, Chief Departement of Cardiac Surgery, University of Verona – IT

Dr. Reza-Gholam KEHTARI, Doctor, Chief of Emergency Departement , Medical Center la Côte – CH

Prof. Karl-Heinz KRAUSE,  Professor Department of Pathology and Immunology University of Geneva - CH

Prof. Lutz  NOLTE,  Director of Institute for Surgical Technology and Biomechanics, University of  Bern - CH

Prof. Nikolaos STERGIOPOULOS, Director of Hemodynamics and Cardiovascular Technology Laboratory,  EPFL  - CH

Prof. Ludwig K. VON SEGESSER, Director of cardio-vascular – CHUV – CH

Industrial and Financial experts

Sandy WETZEL, CEO – Neode  - CH

Eugène BLANCHARD, CEO – GEVERS SA  - European and Swiss Patent Attorney - CH

Jean-Roger CATTIN, Plant Manager Spine, Medos International Sàrl (Johnson & Johnson Campus Neuchâtel)

Philippe CHAVE, CEO – PX Group Métallurgie -  CH

Les sponsors du Prix